person from Tanzania (Jane)

A book by Don Miguel Ruiz

Jane ( Tanzania Tanzania )

“The Four Agreements”, a book by Don Miguel Ruiz – Jane’s goosebumpmoment

(text video)

Jane: “Hello, I’m from Tanzania. My goosebumpmoment is from a book that I read four years ago when I was going through a particularly difficult time. The book is called “The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz and highlights 4 key principles that should guide the way that you choose to live your life. The first one is to be impeccable with your word, don’t take anything personally, don’t make assumptions, and always do your best. It gives me goosebumps because it’s a constant reminder of how I choose to live my life. The one that is incredibly goosebumpy to me specifically is always do your best. And this key principle is highlighting that your best may change from day to day, what matters is in any circumstances to always try to do whatever you can in that moment despite what your best may be for you on that day.”


A book of personal improvement and development

The book “The Four Agreements” proposes a simple procedure to eliminate all those inherited beliefs that limit us and replace them with others that respond to our inner reality and lead us to freedom.

This is a book of self-improvement, it is very inspiring for people who are not clear about certain choices they want to make in their lives. “The Four Agreements” of author and Toltec shaman Miguel Ruiz are valuable commitments to create new habits that transform life, allow you to be happy and be in harmony with others.

What does this book show us?

“The Four Agreements”, a book by Miguel Ruiz published in 1997 and which has sold close to 4 million copies, is a guide that leads us to personal freedom and explains the importance of the mind in our development as human beings. We are conditioned from a very young age to live in a world based on assumptions, which have been instilled in us since we were children, either by our parents, siblings, friends or society in general.

These thoughts have conditioned us on many occasions and have made us believe things that may not be true, but the power they have over us is so great that we come to believe them. That is why the author states that we have been trained just as we do with animals, our mind has been tamed by these conditioning thoughts.

What are “The Four Agreements”?

The four agreements are expressed in a very simple, yet profound way. These dilemmas of life are found in simple and pleasant language, and whoever seeks to get into them deeper, will find how to continue diving towards new levels of self-improvement and self-discovery.

These recommendations serve to communicate better, learn to understand others, manage our emotions, train in mastering impulses and achieve a better level of work excellence. In short, the four agreements are: Be impeccable with your words; Don’t take anything personally; Don’t guess or assume; and Always do your best, to the best of your ability.

Who is Miguel Ángel Ruiz Macías?

Miguel Angel Ruiz is a Mexican author, writer and speaker of spiritualist or neo-shamanistic texts and themes, influenced by Carlos Castaneda. In addition to his best known work “The Four Agreements”, Ruiz also wrote several other books, including “The Voice of Knowledge”, “Prayers” and “The Mastery of Love”.

In Mary Carroll Nelson’s “Beyond Fear”, he discusses some of his beliefs through a series of interviews, including his belief in the legend of Atlantis, his belief that the sun entered its sixth era on January 11, 1992, which should lead to a new era for humanity, and his faith in the spiritual power of the Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuacan.

More about “The Four Agreements”:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *